Player retention and the disappearing economy

As I write this, there is a grand total of 2 units of Technetium Oxide for sale in the whole universe. Now I am pretty sure that there are multiple players extracting this mineral, as it is needed for Hardened Structural Elements, without which you can build on high-pressure planets. There simply isn’t any trade ongoing with this. And this is just one example among many.

I have been enjoying Prosperous Universe a lot for over two months now, building up a base to 500 area and basic production using only pioneers. But whenever I research what comes after this, what production chains I could get into with buildings that need settlers and technicians, I always run into the same problem: There is no market, or there is no profit on the commodity exchanges. For anything beyond pioneer-produced goods, people either are self-sufficient, or they trade internally within their corporation.

Certainly many players enjoy working together in corporations, coordinating their bits of the production chain to a point where they all together can make anything up to ships. But there are also other players who prefer to play either alone, or with less coordination, and who enjoy the public player-run economy of the commodity exchanges. And it seems to me that Prosperous Universe becomes a lot less interesting for that latter group after a few months, because of the lack of an economy for advanced goods and materials.

I don’t have a solution for this, but I wanted to give this feedback, because I think it affects player retention. It certainly is the main point where I ask myself whether I want to continue playing, because I don’t see a viable path forward that doesn’t involve a more multi-player approach to the game. Large parts of the tech tree seem totally inaccessible to me, because they aren’t part of the market economy of PrUn.

2 Likes