New Player Feedback

Newbie here. I’ve read and watched all the documentation and videos I can and I think I’ve got the hang of it.

I’m positioning myself to start trying to make profit by selling commodities, but literally in the hole try to get there. Very harsh starting conditions and I thought I picked an easier starting package (Victualler). I’ve had to focus on self-sustain (DW,OVE,RAT,etc) before I can even think about starting to make any profit. Just the upkeep of maintaining worker satisfaction is very expensive at the start. Let alone fuel for ships and other costs to run a base. Trading off-planet is not an option for new players - fuel is prohibitively expensive in the beginning.

New players are literally one mistake away from having to liquidate and start over.

Brand new players need an early source of income to help get on their feet while trying to learn the game. Starter income sources, starter production boost, NPC missions/jobs, market incentives, quests or tutorial step rewards. Something, anything.

I do like the game and will continue to play, but holy crap - new players have a hard life. Is it just me?

Thanks

I think most, maybe all? new players COLIQ. Some multiple times. Whether this is a good or bad status quo is a question tho.

There are a lot of moving parts, and it is hard to not screw something up in a major way your first time through.

I agree with @777isHARDCORE, a most players do a COLIQ in their first couple of weeks. There have only been a few players I know about which have not done so.

The starting packages are quite generous. As you learn the game you will become far better at planning and designing your strategy. If I were to COLIQ now, I would very quickly be able to get to having multiple colonies again.