Basic chemistry / occurance of ressources

1. Basic chemistry

As i started playing I noticed positively that the ressources are aligned with what we know (C, H, O,…).

I then planned on doing something what needed “C” and “H”, and (without really looking before) established a production line that gave me “C” (incinerator) and “H2O” (Water…). I planned on using the “H” from “H20”, as it is a simple step in reality.

BUT not in PU?

What every child could do (take a battery an put the wires into water) is not possible in the science fiction world of PU? I hope some basic conversions (H2O -> H & O in appropriate amount) will be implemented soon.

2. Occurance of ressources

At the moment, planets seem kind of “simple” in kind of ressources. In general just 1-4 ressources, everything else is just impossible. What about the little bar that you already show? Why not (as in reality) give every planet a wide variety of ressources (must not be all) and some are just so sparse that it is not efficient but possibile to harvest them? As soon as the economy grows, no one would harvest those anymore, but you always have a fallback (in case you do not have money) and you have a chance to establish bases far away from commodity exchanges without the need of regular shipments.
(in reality: you could gain gold from earth in germany, but it is just not efficient im comparison to other areas of the world.)

1 Like

Hey, thanks for your feedback!

I’m not the game designer on the team, so take this with a grain of salt. :slightly_smiling_face:

To your first point: The material tree needs to balance realism and game design, with the latter being a more important factor. Game design considerations like balancing or transparency will usually beat realism, although we are trying to approximate realism (with as little damage to game design as possible) with every new iteration. The material tree is far from finished, and your feedback has been heard.