Storage! Extra words added because

Hey all

Storage. I’ve been looking at this since I started playing. Currently, it’s broken down into 2 categories: Weight and Volume. I understand why it’s like this, but it really doesn’t make any sense. I’ve been working in the logistics sector for decades now, and I can tell you that only Volume is relevant . If I have storage, let us say a Warehouse, then the weight of what I put in there is irrelevant. Only the Volume matters. I can stack things up to the roof, if I needed to. The weight of what I put in there doesn’t matter, not even a little bit. Only the Volume that something takes up matters. For any warehouse that is on a planet, you should eliminate the Weight stat, and only use the Volume.

For moving things on ships, again, Volume is what matters. Weight would only make a difference in the fuel used. Mass matters! But only so far as how much fuel will you need to lift off from a planet. Engine strength might come into play, for liftoff, but I don’t know enough about the space travel mechanics to factor that in. From playing with the sliders while trying to fly from one place to the other, I noticed that it’s really wonky. Fuel changes are erratic at best.

So, main theme of this post is: Due away with Weight for storage purposes, because they are really irrelevant. Change the formula for spaceflight to be based on weight, and allow full volume of your cargo bays.

2 Likes

Good thought.

Mass is an interesting factor in this context. It should matter, but basically there’s no real limit to the mass a ship could carry except for the amount of fuel burned to accelerate and decelerate it. So yes, volume is what matters.

Here’s another thought: if we were doing this in real life (at least for sub-relativistic flight) there’s no reason to keep solid cargo inside the ship. Even liquids or gases could be carried externally if there was a [relatively cheap] container.