Reset, Restart, Resettle

Okay, I am fairly new to PU. When I started I selected my profession and then followed the game suggestions on where to settle.
So, what’s going to happen with the new universe? With an off planet CX, how does the casual (non-paying) gamer fit in (if they can’t access the LM)?
Will professions be driven by reality? i.e. the first things that will be need are food production, to keep settlers alive, building materials, to provide shelter, raw material production, etc.
What will be firmly established (i.e. already existing). While we (the players) are arriving in a “new” universe, obviously the universe has been in existence for some time.
I don’t have the benefit of a long history with PU. That could be a good thing. I haven’t played with space flight (I’ve barely been able to progress my base buildings). Will I have to now add the expense of flying to a remote CX in order to get supplies (or pay someone else to do it for me)?
As I said, just a few random thoughts.
Elkhorn

Its just going to be production of very basic goods for a while. Water, food, rations, carbon, iron, etc.

It will be basic goods as Alexfrog says. As someone who started off-world, you’ll have to make sure your ships are filled up enough to make a profit and account for the price of fuel.

For instance Umbra to Kataona is about 200 SF both ways, at 10/SF that’s 2000 for a round trip, so you’ll have to account for that.

You should also join a corp like the villainous Nemesis-https://discord.gg/j4xaA37f.

I am thinking about starting off as Metallurgist and refining ore into metals. Will anyone actually want to buy iron or steel early on in the game?

Steel, maybe. It’s needed for PT which are needed for settlers, but not much is needed. Iron, definitely! It’s used in BSE, BBH, and BTA, critical components for construction.