Development Log Week 101 - A new planet design

Reflecting on the outcome of the first alpha test we decided to squeeze in some changes in our (already pretty full) schedule before going on as planned. The changes mostly concern how fast and big bases can be built.

You can find the full issue of the development log here: link

2 Likes

Love reading anything about the way you handle planets. My own hobby project (as opposed to the actual released project where I am a volunteer developer) is also a spaced based sandbox game, though it’s focus is political/military in a setting that is heavily influenced by the Dune novels. Procedural generation and graphics however are not my thing, I am a process control engineer by trade so I have been knee deep in things like map projections and Voronoi cells for a long time trying to piece together my own system for generating a planet.

The stuff you guys are doing with planetary tilt and orbits are things l only dream about at the moment.

I’m very excited for the possibilities that the future of this game holds. The developers seem to be keeping up the pace on updates for sure!

@Masdus Your project sounds interesting! I read quite a lot of Dune novels when I was younger and liked them very much. Playing around with procedural generation can be quite satisfying. When I wrote the devlog yesterday I thought about explaining how we generate the voronoi plots but decided against it because the visuals of the planets are not quite done yet.

@Drinthap thanks :slight_smile:

1 Like